The Eternal Journey

by Guruguhan Iyer

 

“Lots, my friend, lots. Just keep moving.”

The answer came from within.

 

“I am tired.”

His whisper was mixed with anger and frustration.

“I have been travelling since God knows when.

Can you at least tell me how many more miles are left?”

 

“Lots, my friend, lots. Just keep moving.”

The answer came from within.

 

Papers after papers

The dustbin kept swallowing.

The ink flow was steadily depleting.

The ache on his wrist reached his brain,

And came back and forth.

 

“Soon, the ink will stop flowing.” He warned.

“How can you expect me to keep going without them?

For God’s sake tell me how many more miles!”

 

“Lots, my friend, lots. Just keep moving.”

The answer came from within.

 

“HOW THE FUCK AM I SUPPOSED TO KEEP MOVING?

IT’S A FUCKIN’ DEAD END!

CAN’T YOU FUCKIN’ SEE?

TELL ME HOW FUCKIN’ FAR, NOW!”

 

“Lots, my friend, lots. Just keep moving.”

The answer came from within.

 

He threw his hands up in the air.

“I can’t do it anymore

I’d rather be stuck here forever.”

 

He kept staring

Looking for an answer

But came none

Neither from the sky nor from the earth.

 

“At least tell me what to do!”

He begged.

“I am sorry, I’ll keep going!”

He pleaded.

 

He was startled.

He could feel his heart pound.

His wrists ran over the papyrus,

Faster than the speed of light.

 

He had arrived after all.

He applied the brakes

And heaved a sigh of relief.

 

“I am so glad to meet you all.”

He greeted each and every word, warmly.

“I’ve been looking for you since so many drafts.

But I managed to put you all together, haven’t I?”

He smiled with complete satisfaction.

“I hope you are happy being together.

See you later I have to keep moving.”

 

He turned the page and started afresh

“I know, I have miles to go.” He began

“But can you tell me how many…?”

